Why 2011 is the year to just do it!

9 Jan

2011 is my year.  No it’s not some psychic, astronomy or astrology thang.

I just feel it in my bones – so whole-heartedly that I wake up most mornings with a self assured spring in my grand jeté and a little surge of adrenaline that is only half-caffeine fueled.  Call it blind faith or the culmination of self belief due to a long period of diligence, discipline and a healthy dose of self-doubt. I’m in the game this year and I’m here to win it.

As a coach and a friend, my ears prick up and my heart sinks a little bit, whenever I listen to the excuses of people who are not living their lives hard out.  As a mother, I take note when my kids whine about something they just can’t do.

“Let’s just see about that honey.”  “Do you want to do it together the first time?  Do you need some help?  Or should I just throw you in the pool to prove that you really are born to swim?”

Confucius says ‘A journey of a thousand miles begins with the single step’.  A simple message that is perhaps so simple that many of us do not take heed.  

I say – be bold. Do the research.  Connect with what makes you excited and a little bit scared and then you will know you are on the right track. Take baby steps and you will be amazed at what you learn along your path.  Soon enough, that mountain will be scaled and trodden over with a skip.  You don’t have to do it all today but just start. Set some goals, break them down into bite sized chunks and take a leap of faith!  Share your goals with a friend and ask them to keep you accountable. The confidence that blooms from just doing it today will propel you forward for months to come.

Don’t be one of those “I wish I had of” people. Start shining now.                                                                           

I am.  I’m stepping up and out.  I’m doing it and it would be really nice if you would join me, because, frankly, it’s a little bit scary out here.

Have a happy day!

One Response to “Why 2011 is the year to just do it!”

  1. Lonely February 19, 2011 at 9:44 am #

    This sounds like a journey to observe…but although it may be scary, I’ll watch your journey if you watch mine.

    Let’s take 2011 by storm…together.

Leave a Reply

