And the winner is….Me!

21 Apr

I woke up this morning to find out I have been honoured with the Versatile Blogger Award by fellow blogger – LifeAsMummyMax from daddy, mummy and kiddie max.   Just so you know – I had never heard of her prior to this auspicious occasion and no money has exchanged hands….But of course I think she totally rocks!

Have to say, that along with my early morning caffeine, I’m feeling super hyped and happy right now.  Funny how an unexpected dose of acknowledgement from a complete stranger can do that.

The rules are that I have to share seven somewhat unknown and presumably interesting facts about myself and also pay it forward by nominating 15 other newly discovered bloggers for the same award.

So, seven random facts about me….mmmm….tricky:

  • You know how you read about those weird little kids with imaginary friends who actually believe they are real, talk to them and have a place set next to them at the table?  Yup, that was me.  Her name was Jane and she was my side-kick for approximately two years of my life.  She was cute, funny and way more kick-ass than me.  Jane helped me through some of my more awkward moments from the ages of 5-7.  I still think of her fondly sometimes.
  • I am always puzzled by people who arrange their drinking glasses ‘rim down’ in the cupboard.  Ok…more than puzzled. I do not like. Think about it – you may clean your glasses every day after use but then you put them rim down in a cupboard that most likely has not been cleaned in 6 months??  Just stop it and let me breathe again.
  • I’ve visited many countries and enjoyed living in New Zealand, Canada, England and South Korea but I’ve always been fiercely in love with Australia.  The burnt landscape, endless beaches, crazy unaffected people and resounding buzz of cicadas are deeply entrenched in my heart.  I just love my country.
  • I’ve always liked my feet.  They’re small, strong, nicely shaped and for the amount of dancing and high-heels they have endured; they remain suprisingly soft and un-calloused.
  • Okay, speaking of attractive body parts…While all my friends were checking out boys with sparkling eyes and bulging biceps, my eyes gravitated to an area much lower…no not that low – to the HANDS…(tsk tsk)!  If you were to see my hubbys’ hands…you would understand exactly why I married him.  Nuff said.
  • I never wanted to get married or have kids – especially the kids part.  My first baby girl was an “accident” and I now view her birth as a serendipitous event.   She gave me a reason to keep living when my dad died, the opportunity to discover that I could be a great parent and the desire to have more babies.  Lucky me!
  • Finally…..I’m a firm follower of ‘less is more’ and ‘quality over quantity’. I will always prefer one cup of freshly brewed coffee than 3 instant; one row of handmade quality chocolate over a whole bar of factory made. You can put me in any store and by pure chance, my favourite item is usually going to be the most expensive. Champagne tastes on beer money?  That’s me folks 🙂

Now the extra fun part –  to pass the award on to 15 other newly discovered (to me at least), deserving bloggers.  They include mummy bloggers, photography and style fanatics, eco-conscious devotees and people with a huge social conscience.  Check them out!

  1. My green picket fence
  2. Nicole Hastings Photoblogging
  3. Axxentor
  4. Gina Smith Photography
  5. Ofthenow
  6. A buddhaful journey
  7. An Aussie Mums Guide to Eco-friendly Babies
  8. The Grasshopper Foundation
  9. Maid in Australia
  10. Sunny Mummy
  11. Seven Cherubs
  12. Romantic Flair Original
  13. Styling You
  14. Martyr-hood
  15. Planning with Kids

Thanks again LifeAsMummyMax!

~Kirri

11 Responses to “And the winner is….Me!”

  1. Nikki Parkinson April 21, 2011 at 9:50 am #

    Thanks for including me in your list!

  2. Beck April 21, 2011 at 10:13 am #

    Wow what a nice surprise to get this morning.
    I’m glad you like my blog. I’ll be sure to forward this on, great idea 🙂

  3. Romina Garcia April 22, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

    Oh thanks!!
    I also have champagne taste on beer money…one day hopefully it will all balance out x

  4. naomiellis April 23, 2011 at 8:45 am #

    Congrats on getting an award and thanks so much for passing it on to me. Love the things that you have shared in your list and wow! you have done some travelling. Hope you are having a great Easter Break. Naomi x

  5. Julie April 24, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

    Hi Kirri,

    Sorry, I know this isn’t the best timing….but I’m also awarding you with the Versatile Blogger Award!! I had you on my list before I saw your blog to say you already had one it too. 😉

    • Kirri White April 24, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

      Um, anytime is good for me to receive a bit of acknowledgement. Thanks so much!

  6. Zoey @ Good Goog April 24, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

    What a great list of bloggers! And I enjoyed your seven random things. I also tend to have a radar for the most expensive thing in the store, although my budget runs more to the cheapest!

  7. Beck April 26, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

    I’ve now forwarded on the love, thanks again 🙂

  8. bronnie July 24, 2011 at 8:06 am #

    You very kindly gave me this award, weeks, maybe months ago. Says a lot about my time-management skills that I’ve finally gotten around to not just saying thank you, but doing my post and passing on the love. Thank you xo

    • Kirri White July 24, 2011 at 9:56 am #

      No worries! So nice of you to stop by and for the mention. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

