You have discovered you have 15 minutes to live….

2 Jun

For the next 30 days I will be taking part in the #trust30 writing challenge, an online initiative that encourages you to reflect on the now and create direction for your future.

Inspired by the Domino Project, it is part of a celebration of Ralph Waldo Emerson’s 208th birthday – a great thinker, who encouraged self-reliance and betterment.

Used to being the first one at the party,  I’m joining this challenge a day late…so expect a double post in the next day or two.  Please feel free to join me in the challenge or share your own musings in the comments section.

Day one: Writing prompt by Gwen Bell – “You have discovered you have 15 minutes to live”

Who am I kidding?  Anyone who has known me for more than a week is most likely to guess what I would be doing in my last 15 minutes on earth….blubbering  for approximately 450 seconds, flailing my arms wildly and then crying some more.

Most.Likely.Scenario.

However…somewhere between those deep gasping sobs, I would like to think that

a) I would not be chained to my laptop or iphone

b) I was surrounded by my family and loved ones

c) that I could see the skyline and feel the sand beneath my feet and

d) that I had a handy bottle of champagne in my possession….maybe even tequila?

I would be grateful for the seeds of love sown in my life, the ones that scattered and took root in the hearts of many.

I would regret that I held back too often, that I was too shy to follow up a smile with a meaningful conversation and that I had left many personal fears undefeated.

A whole bunch of plausible clichés come to mind….

One thing is for sure – 15 minutes is smaller than a grain of rice in the big scheme of things.

Yet, its long enough to give yourself a gentle nudge…to wake the hell up and not just to dream big but to live and love big….with a fearless heart and an open mind.

Live in the sunshine, swim the sea, drink the wild air.
—      Ralph Waldo Emerson

9 Responses to “You have discovered you have 15 minutes to live….”

  1. mamagrace71 June 2, 2011 at 2:26 pm #

    “I would be grateful for the seeds of love sown in my life, the ones that scattered and took root in the hearts of many.” – love it.
    That would be how I would like to sum up my life in its last 15 minutes…

    Loving your blog design too !!!
    The Bueno Theme rocks 🙂

    • Kirri White June 2, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

      Thanks for your kind words Grace (assuming your name is in fact Grace!). Really appreciate you stopping by today.

  2. Terry June 2, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    Wonderful how you get so much in so few words. Personally, 14.5 minutes planning what I would do and…..damn, too late…:)

    • Kirri White June 2, 2011 at 6:19 pm #

      haha, not true at all…..I know you are a man of action!

  3. Kirsty June 2, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

    I dont know what I would do, I would hope that my children and husband know how much I love them and that I will miss them dearly, live is too short and it really makes to appreciate things! Great challenge you are doing this month, I look forward to reading more 🙂

    • Kirri White June 3, 2011 at 5:40 am #

      Kirsty….bang on…life is but a flicker and love is the one miracle we can experience every day. Look forward to sharing more!

  4. LisaW June 3, 2011 at 7:42 am #

    Kirri, I loved reading your thoughts on this one. You’re a very talented writer!

  5. Ames June 4, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

    I love your post. I’m joining in too so thank you 🙂

    • Kirri White June 4, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

      Thanks Ames…I am just about to check out your offerings…watch out!

Leave a Reply

