What’s one strong belief you possess?

3 Jun

Written by Kirri White.  Follow me on twitter or facebook.

You can also contact me by email –  kirri@happymumsathome.com

This post is part of the #trust30 writing initiative, inspired by Ralph Waldo Emerson’s “Self-reliance” that encourages you to look within and trust yourself.  You can find further details regarding the challenge here.

It is easy in the world to live after the world’s opinion; it is easy in solitude to live after our own; but the great man is he who in the midst of the crowd keeps with perfect sweetness the independence of solitude. – Ralph Waldo Emerson, Self-Reliance

Day three:

The world is powered by passionate people, powerful ideas, and fearless action. What’s one strong belief you possess that isn’t shared by your closest friends or family? What inspires this belief, and what have you done to actively live it?

(Author: Buster Benson)

I have to admit I have spent much of the morning struggling over today’s writing task….Why?  Because I’m not sure I hold one strong belief.

Is that bad?  It’s bad isn’t it?

Honestly…I’m a fence sitter.  I can see both sides of every argument.  I can empathise with all points of view which makes it difficult to stand up, hold a placard and speak boldly and passionately about a lot of topics.

What I am certain of is that there is rarely one definitive answer to many of lifes’ big questions and for all the research and evidence supporting one hypothesis, you will find another that strongly supports the opposing view.

Like fashion, belief systems come and go and my personal perceptions also keep evolving.

There are few absolutes and a handful of truisms.  This fact alone is what inspires me to keep searching, learning and evolving.

A thirst for knowledge and learning that life serves up in a rainbow of flavours?

That’s something I’m willing to stand up for.

*Final thought – I do have one strong belief not shared by some family members and friends….

Homosexuality is biological and we all deserve to be treated with respect and share equal rights.   That debate is over.

5 Responses to “What’s one strong belief you possess?”

  1. Terry June 3, 2011 at 11:14 am #

    I loved the debate between Ross and Phoebe (Friends) about evolution. A concept Phoebe chose not to believe in. I agree that there are truisms, but few things that are absolutely, irrefutably true.

    As for your final comment, being prepared to debate almost anything…I don’t know if homosexuality is biological or not, and whereas I agree that we should all be treated equally, what I don’t agree is that ‘we deserve…’ (not related to sexuality, but in general). I am not a believe in rights or deserving. I just believe in ‘do unto others…’.

    Thought provoking Ms K…:)

  2. countingducks June 4, 2011 at 4:34 am #

    I’m like you. I tend to see both sides of the fence. I’m much more about understanding than judgement but that old adage “We must love one another or die” has a lot of value tho it’s hard to practise in real life

  3. Sarah @GettingfromHeretoThere June 5, 2011 at 9:59 am #

    I have an opinion on just about everything, but not in the sense that my opinion is right over everyone else’s. Right is subjective… my right doesn’t have to be your right.
    That said I can argue either side of most arguments and often do for the sake of a debate that might expand my own views. There’s nothing better than when my family gets together and we get into a heated (loving :-P) debate that challenges all our beliefs.
    On the homosexual issue, I’m with Terry and not sure that it is a biological issue. My brother is gay and would be horrified to know that I think that (maybe when he’s older we can talk about it). But, I am all for respect equal “rights” for all – not because we deserve it but because we’re human.

    • Kirri White June 6, 2011 at 6:14 am #

      Sarah..i think there is so much value in keeping an open mind and wanting to debate issues to expand your own learning.
      I also admire your honesty – Thanks so much for offering another viewpoint to ponder.

  4. Norlin June 6, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

    Whilst I don’t normally sit on the fence on certain issues, I do believe in respecting everybody else’s views, without being judgemental. But, when it comes to homosexuality, I do believe it is biological. If it’s influence (nurture) and not biological (nature), then how do you explain people who are NOT exposed to homosexuality in their culture or their family and friends and yet discover they are “different” from the norm as they do get older?

Leave a Reply

