Where in the world?

7 Jun

Written by Kirri White.  Follow me on twitter or facebook.

You can also contact me by email –  kirri@happymumsathome.com

This post is part of the #trust30 writing initiative, inspired by Ralph Waldo Emersons “Self-reliance” that encourages you to look within and trust yourself.  You can find further details regarding the challenge here.

Day four prompt by author Chris Guillebeau

Not everyone wants to travel the world, but most people can identify at least one place in the world they’d like to visit before they die. Where is that place for you, and what will you do to make sure you get there?

I’ve done a fair bit of travelling – London, Paris, Greece, Turkey, Spain, South Korea, Canada and New Zealand are some of the most memorable places I have been fortunate enough to visit.  Sometimes I stayed for a week, sometimes a whole lot longer and as any avid explorer will tell you – there is not much that can compete in terms of the depth of life experience garnered, particularly when you’re young.

Senses are on high alert due to differences in culture, food, language, buildings and behaviour. You get to soak up artifacts and architecture previously viewed by media alone and if you are lucky enough…you get to discover that you are far more capable than you ever imagined.  On your own.

You may find yourself alone with bag stolen on a painfully overheated clunkered ole bus, headed in the wrong direction. With no ability to communicate other than hand-gestures *some tears* and charades, somehow you still manage to make that bus turn around so that you make your connecting flight seconds before gate closure.

Them be good times!

In retrospect at least.

While a passion to explore the world can most definitely provide you with a suitcase of unforgettables, it can also bring you back to a place of contrasting landscape rich in colour and as diverse as its inhabitants….. Australia mate!

The Majesty of Uluru

I had to leave home to appreciate what I already had.

I have lived in four cities and three states but have never been over the desert and into the west….part of my story that needs to be amended.

How will it happen?  Just wait and see.

Cheffy hubby and I have started “the trip” fund and hatched up a random plan which involves three small girls, skipping school and a winebago.

I’ll let you know how it plays out.

~Kirri

If we live truly, we shall see truly. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

Source of image 

3 Responses to “Where in the world?”

  1. Terry June 7, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

    Just imagining the tears and tantrums in a broken down bus full of bemused locals…and that was just your bus driver…:)

    Visited 40+ countries, lived on 4 continents, I enjoy places because of the people. I can recall being in view of a stunning snow scape of Himalayan foothills, watching a Mother and child interact. When the mountains were once again pointed out, my comment was “ahhh, hills…seen them” as I turned back to see the progress of the young family.

    As such, I have to say, I have been spoilt (or spoiled myself) in my travel. I have felt lonely and lost in the rural English village where I now live and felt totally at home in a shanty in the middle of a remote Pacific island.

    Where do I want to visit? I can think of places I would, given the opportunity, but none that I yearn to visit…except to re-visit people I know.

    Thnx again for sharing your perspective, I look forward to seeing the pics of the trip west.

  2. mamagrace71 June 7, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    Ooooh…a road trip across Australia with the kids in a Winnebago ! Love it ! Have always wanted to visit Central Australia.
    One day, one day 🙂

  3. countingducks June 8, 2011 at 3:13 am #

    I just love adventureand foreign travel and I liked your list of countries visited. I’ve done a fair bit myself so can I more than sympathise with your plans

Leave a Reply

